Wednesday, October 3, 2012

The Sword of Lyric by Sharon Hinck

With the recent release of The Restorer's Journey, the Sword of Lyric trilogy is now available in extended editions offering bonus chapters, special features, and discussion guides. As part of publicity for the re-release, Sharon Hinck offered the chance to be an "influencer" by receiving an early e-copy and posting reviews. Here's an interview about the process as well as some links. I will post my own review later this week.

The Restorer’s Journey-Expanded Edition


The Restorer’s Journey-Expanded Edition

His choices have the power to save or destroy.

With a loved one’s life at stake, Jake charges through the portal into Lyric to stage a dramatic rescue, trusting that the signs that mark him as Restorer will guarantee success. But everything familiar in Lyric has vanished, swept away by deadly lies and a corrupt king. As inexorable forces conspire to turn him from his purpose, Jake finds his path leading to places beyond his courage.

While he confronts the temptation to flee his calling, Susan struggles in brutal captivity. Can she gain freedom before the enemy destroys her spirit, and will Jake choose to follow his destiny before everything is lost?

(Book three in the groundbreaking Sword of Lyric series, The Restorer’s Journey won a Carol Award for speculative fiction. This new expanded edition includes bonus scenes, a ten week devotional guide, and links to audio and video extras.)


This is the third book in the series. Is it the last?

I love the Sword of Lyric world, and hope to complete a fourth book. I began it years ago, but have been sidetracked for a while. In recent years I focused my energy on the bonus material for the expanded editions and getting the first three books back in print in these improved versions. Now that all three are available with all the beautiful new extras, my plan is to get back to finishing the fourth novel.

Of the three books, was this one your favorite?

No. It was the most difficult for me to write.

Although I’ve gotten reader mail from people who say this book was their favorite of the series, it’s a bit darker in tone. Susan’s struggle with captivity and mind poison hit a bit too close to home for me. Reading the book, you experience her suffering over a few days, but writing it, I had to spend many months with her in that Rhusican prison, and that was tough.

However, Jake’s storyline was great fun. He’s an idealist, as am I. Seeing him confront the disappointments in his quest, and also watching him overcome his weaknesses, was inspiring to me. In addition to adult readers, I have a lot of young readers, and I think they appreciated watching Susan’s 18-year-old son grow into his Restorer role.

How did you decide where to put in bonus elements?

Working with the publisher, we decided it was important to keep the flow of the story intact and free from distractions. So the book is designed with a large back-of-the-book section that can be used either after finishing the story, or during the reading of the main story. Small symbols and page numbers at the end of chapters direct readers to bonus scenes, and QR symbols in the margin invite readers to explore audio files, or recipes, or rules for playing Perish – all without interrupting the story.

It was important to me that people would feel that it was worth the investment to own The Restorer’s Journey-Expanded Edition, even if they had a copy of the original edition, so we packed this book with lots of added value.

Besides an entertaining read, what do you hope people experience in The Restorer’s Journey-Expanded Edition?

My hope is that readers who are finding their own life adventures more difficult than expected will be encouraged by the journeys of Susan and Jake. The One chooses unlikely Restorers, but always guides and equips and provides. When the characters relied on their own strength or intellect, their tasks felt hopeless. But when they leaned on the One, they caught glimpses of amazing ways that the One was at work with love and purpose.

Where can people find the book?


Sharon writes “stories for the hero in all of us,” about ordinary people experiencing God’s grace in unexpected ways. Known for their authenticity, emotional range, and spiritual depth, her novels include contemporary fiction such as The Secret Life of Becky Milleror Stepping into Sunlight and the groundbreaking Sword of Lyric fantasy series which includes The Restorer’s Son–Expanded Edition. She’s been a Christy finalist and won three Carol awards.
Sharon’s undergrad degree is in education, and she earned an M.A. in Communication. When she isn’t wrestling with words, Sharon enjoys speaking to conferences, retreats, and church groups. She loves interacting with visitors at her website and blog: 

No comments:

Post a Comment